Book Reviews – Third Quarter of 2023

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus (3.5-3.75 stars)

I liked this book okay, and it was very easy to read, but I feel like there were too many things I didn’t like. I really disliked the main character, and because of that it was really hard to enjoy the book as a whole. My least favorite part about this book was how preachy it was about social issues, when it’s supposed to be set in the 1950s to ’60s, and there’s very little chance that anyone would have opinions that align so closely with the opinions of modern teenagers and young adults.

The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan (4 stars)

Continuing my reread of the Percy Jackson books. This book was way better than I remembered it being. Honestly, this series is one of the few book series where the sequels just continue getting better throughout the series. I really love how Riordan is able to develop his characters in ways that feel realistic, but are still very satisfying.

The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan (4.5 stars)

This was a very good conclusion to the series. I think it was my favorite one to read, and it was a very quick one to finish. I am very excited to see the new Disney+ adaptation.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (4.5 stars)

This was one of those books that I resisted reading for the longest time, but once I read it, I absolutely LOVED it. This is one of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read. The characters in this book are SO well written, and I really appreciated how real they felt. The worldbuilding was also really good, and the world felt very real and believable (as much as any fantasy world can). The plot was also really well executed. I think my only problem was the pacing, but it wasn’t that bad. It starts kind of slow, but I got into it pretty quickly, and by that point, I was fully invested.

Magyk by Angie Sage (4.5 stars)

This was another self-indulgent reread of a book I loved as a kid. I think this book was quite fun. Especially for children, Angie Sage’s writing style is so lovely and fun. I really like the world, and the characters are quite fun and interesting (I love Marcia Overstrand so much). This is one of those books I wish I could read again for the first time for sure.

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot (4 stars)

I read this book for a book club, and it was so interesting! I had never heard of Henrietta Lacks, and her life and legacy were so interesting to read about! I thought the author did a good job of writing the book so that it stayed interesting but didn’t lose the substance. I feel like this is a book that pretty much everyone should read, because Henriatta Lacks and the HeLa cells have affected all of us.

Daisy Jones & the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid (2 stars)

This was one of those books that I was pressured into reading by the internet, and unfortunately, I did not like it. The main character, Daisy, was way too effortlessly “perfect” and almost all of the characters were rude and/or bratty. I also don’t think that writing about a fake “legendary” band makes much sense. I think what the author really wanted to do was write a book about Fleetwood Mac, and that would have been miles better than this silly novel. I can kind of see why people enjoyed the book, but it definitely was not for me.

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (4.5 stars)

This is the sequel to Six of Crows, and I might have liked it even more than the first. I really liked how much focus there was on the characters themselves. It was what I loved about the first book, and there was even more of it in the sequel, and it was done very well.

Deposing Nathan by Zack Smedley (5 stars)

This was a book I picked up at a used book store on a whim a few years ago, and this was my second time reading it. This is one of my favorite books I’ve ever read. Think John Green, but gay and Christian, and you get this book. I absolutely love how well this book does suspense, and I think that Smedley handles the nuances of not fitting into your community so well. Even on reread, this was amazing. I had forgotten enough that the plot twist(s) were still surprising, and the writing is masterful and beautiful. I love love love this book and I want it to be more popular because it’s amazing.

Better than the Movies by Lynn Painter (3.5 stars)

This was a pretty fun high school romance. It wasn’t anything groundbreaking, but I did enjoy all the rom-com references, especially as a self-proclaimed rom-com lover. If you’re in the mood for a pretty fun (and clean) YA rom-com that’s pretty well written, this would definitely fit the bill.

Love on the Brain by Ali Hazelwood (2 stars)

This book is part of Ali Hazelwood’s “STEMinist” series, so you’d think it would be a cute romance with some feminism sprinkled in, right? Wrong. This book is terribly misogynistic, while preaching feminism, which in my book is the same as (or worse than) just being misogynistic. The main character is another perfect, tiny, genius girl who’s also very socially stupid. The man’s only personality is being BIG and also not a terrible person, and that’s enough for a romance to develop, apparently. I liked The Love Hypothesis okay, but this book is basically the same book plus a little sprinkle of You’ve Got Mail and significantly worse. Just don’t read it. Please.



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

2023 blog book-review Book reviews Books BYU coronavirus covid-19 dune family history Franklin S. Harris haiku home school LGBT+ Memories miscellany movies music Opinion Personal poetry reading Romance running science-fiction therapy thoughts TV worth

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started